The Three Branches of The Federal Government

Branches of GovernmentThe three branches of the federal government are:

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch is in charge of creating laws. It consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate which together form the United States Congress.
Congress is given its powers in Article I of the Constitution. These powers include declaring war, enacting legislation, the right to confirm or reject presidential appointments, and powers to investigate government officials.

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch is in charge of reviewing laws. The judicial branch consists of the Supreme Court and other federal courts. Supreme Court Justices are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The Supreme Court interprets the meaning of laws, decides whether a law is relevant to a particular set of facts, and to rule how a law should be applied.

Executive Branch

The executive branch is in charge of carrying out laws. The head of the executive branch is President of the United States, who is also head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The President appoints the head of the all federal agencies that are a part of the executive branch, including the Cabinet. The Vice President is also a part of the executive branch and is in charge of helping the President and taking the President's position if he is no longer able to perform his duties.